Test Page

For trying things out on.

The Gyesburn Bible – an unlikely survival

Although it was dissolved in 1540 several books are known to exist which were once owned by Gisborough Priory. Most are service books and liturgical calendars and in various libraries and collections around the country. However, the Gyesburn Bible stands out as being a richly decorated hand written copy of the Vulgate bible given to…

Continue Reading

The Great Fire

On the 16th of May 1289 at a little before noon, and just as the Convent was gathering for a procession and mass, a fire broke out on the Priory Church roof.  A “vile plumber”, engaged to repair holes in the lead roof, and who had already caused alarm due to his “wicked disposition” and…

Continue Reading

900 Years of History

The history of Gisborough Priory covers more than 900 years from its foundation in 1119. After the dissolution in 1540, formal gardens covered much of the site. The gardens became increasingly elaborate but eventually became abandoned. In the late 1990s a local group, which later became Gisborough Priory Project, decided to try to restore at…

Continue Reading

The Monk’s Walk

Plan from 1773 showing Monk's Wlak

From the earliest days Gisborough Priory Project has sought to restore and open to the public the historic Priory gardens. The Monk’s Walk was one of the very first targets. This article examines the history and development of this iconic garden feature. Following the dissolution of the Priory in 1540 King Henry VIII leased the…

Continue Reading